Customer Reviews
basset-hound-ebook
Basset Hound Savvy
‘Learn How to Make Your Basset Hound
Happy, Healthy and Obedient’
4.8
4.8 rating
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 71 reviews)
Excellent80%
Very good18%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
Below you will find reviews posted by some of our customers. If you would like to leave a review of your own there is a form at the bottom of the page.

If you would like help with your basset hound click here to find out more!

I value all the advice you have given me...

5.0 rating
May 22, 2013

I got Gus from a shelter because he was cute and he was good with my 2 yr old grandson. I had no idea what I was getting into so I value all the advice you have given me. Gus will not outhink me. I will get him to think my way. I will not give up. I hope.

Eula Grismore, Denver Colorado usa

great support...

5.0 rating
May 22, 2013

I Have found it a great support, especially being a first time dog owner, would definitely recommend.

Laura Duggan, Middleton, Manchester England

a lot of information in your book...

5.0 rating
May 22, 2013

There is a lot of information in your book and the free books.

JEFF OLIVER, LAFAYETTE INDIANA TIPPECANOE

she has been so much calmer...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I have learned that some of the training I thought was appropriate for my Basset was not correct. Since going through the books I have been able to stop some negative behavior (whining excessively when someone rings the door bell or comes to the door) that my 5yr old Basset has been doing for many years. Since changing my training techniques with her she has been so much calmer. I wish I could have found this website sooner.

Debbie Ashley, Dayton Ohio USA

let us know more about the breed...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has let us know as first time owners of a beautiful Basset Hound that his personality and aura are what the breed is supposed to be. We have only had this dog(or he has only had us) for a month, but you would think that he has been with us all of his young life. Thank you for telling us about this unique breed of dog. Thank you for letting us know that he is what he is supposed to be – wonderful!

Charlie and Gayle Gahn, Bisbee Arizona USA

provides great information...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy provides great information on dog owning.

Karen Wise, Galion Ohio United States

I feel more confident with your help...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Excellent Invaluable. My dog is very young and I feel more confident with your help.

Suzy Houston, Glarryford Northern Ireland

have never seen anything more complete...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading Basset Hound Savvy and would encourage anyone who wants to raise a Basset Hound to purchase this book. I have never seen anything more complete. We bought a “dog book” at a local book store but it does not come close to Basset Hound Savvy.

Richard Warren, Stewardson Illinois U.S.A.

given me a great insight as to what to expect...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

This is the first dog I have every had and the book has given me a great insight as to what to expect.

Eddie Presland, Keighley West Yorkshire England

guide you in the best and most informative way possible...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

If you are considering acquiring a Basset Hound think very carefully, they are hounds after all and not your usual household pet dog. Even if just considering I would recommend you buy Basset Hound Savvy it will let you know what you are “in for” and guide you in the best and most informative way possible.

Victoria Hamblin, Marchamley, Shropshire England

Its affordable as well as user friendly...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

You have addressed some of the training situations I needed to learn and it was comforting to know that our “problems” were typical of bassets. Its affordable as well as user friendly!

Kathy Voorhees, Washington NJ USA

experienced point of view...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I have always had labs and beagles and thought that Basset Hound Savvy would provide some great insight in to this breed and so far it has. They are strange but cute looking dogs and such neat personalities and I wanted to know all about them from an experienced point of view.

Jennifer Stevens, Painted Post NY USA

assisted us to fully understand the Basset...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I have found Basset Savvy terrific as we have had two other different breed of dogs, a Golden Lab and a Cockapoo and both pups were extremely different then the Basset pup experience. This book assisted us to fully understand the Basset nature. Thanks so much.

Donna English, Whitby Ontario Canada

would have been training him all wrong...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all the info on Bassets. They really are unlike other dogs with regards to training etc. Without this info I would have probably been training him all wrong and be left with a dog that rules the roost!

Tanya McNulty, Burnley Lancashire UK

very helpful when working with two dogs...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Our male basset (Duke) is quite a handful. After losing our beloved golden retriever (Maxi) we felt it was important to get a friend for Duke, so we adopted a beagle (Baylee). They definitely love each other, but having two hounds in the house has definitely been a challenge. I have found the Basset Hound Savvy very helpful when working with both Duke & Baylee to train them. Thank you for producing it!

Tim & Tammy Stephan, Oxford WI USA

much much more helpful then any other...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I found the information to be well organized and much much more helpful then any other place or book I had tried prior. Hannah Downey has taken the time to organize and research what others have not!!

Steven Lee, Danville Kentucky USA

All the information I needed was in Basset Hound Savvy...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

As a novice to the breed I was keen to find out as much about the breed to eliminate any bad behaviour and train my dog responsibly. All the information I needed was in Basset Hound Savvy plus the email support is fantastic.

D.Jeffers, Bolton Lancashire England

the only way I could be happy with my basset...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I am very glad because I read the Basset Hound Savvy. It was very helpful in my training process, being a pack leader it’s the most important thing to show to my dog and the same thing must do my son and daughter. Each one must win their place in the “family” in front of the basset. The basset hound it’s the most intelligent dog and you need to prepare in advance if you want to win. He wants all the attention of the pack leader, and you need to show him that you love every member of the family, not only him. Discipline is the clue with his temperament, and it is the only way to go on. Be lovely but firmly is the kind of love he understands. If he respects you, loves you and appreciate your love too. One advice if he barks a lot looking for you at night, shot him with a gun toy little shot of water in his face, he will sidle down fast. Thank you for your advices, was the only way I could be happy with my basset, less surprise more success. Be lovely, patient and firmly that´s the clue.

Sandra, Mexico City

great product!...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has been our single source for training and understanding our new puppy. The publication, in concert with the weekly emails have made her transition into our family much easier and less stressful for all. I would highly recommend reading every subsequent email and then most importantly using the info every day. A great product!

Brad Knox, Springville Indiana USA

live with bad traits?...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

We know the traits (good and bad) of Bassets but we thought we just had to “live with” the bad. Now we know we don’t!

Vickie Arrington, Quinton Virginia USA

everything was helpful...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

Being I never had a Basset Hound before, everything was helpful in the Basset Hound Savvy, for my dog is very different from my other dog, he is very(stubborn)as the book said, it is good to know some things w/the Basset Hound that I didn’t have any ideas about, as in they have oily skin, could have back problems from being over weight & not to add feeding them people food is bad for they will not want to eat their own food. I found this out the hard way. I had to tell my Basset Hound NO each time he begged for a piece of pizza crust or whatever I had at the time,and of course that is not an easy thing to do when he looks at you with those eyes! lesson well learned!

Elizabeth Knight, Spring Hill Fl USA

really helped me a lot...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I just love all the advice and helpful tips and hints in each chapter of the book. It really helped me a lot.

Laure, Port Elizabeth South Africa

a great addition to our family...

5.0 rating
May 21, 2013

I think this book will be a great addition to our family with the two bassets we have. We have found that bassets are a harder breed to train but they “are” trainable. We love them and wouldn’t want any other dog for our family but it takes a lot of patience and perseverance. The email support provided is really nice because there are many days that I am frustrated but can jot down my concerns and know that an answer will be coming soon.

Krystal DeBilzan, Simi Valley CA USA

extremely useful...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Being a first time dog owner, I find the help and advice provided in Basset Hound Savvy extremely useful. I want to ensure that Barney, my dog, is given the best care and this book is helping me to do just that. Thank you.

Gail Burke, Aberdare Mid Glamorgan United Kingdom

I have seen improved behavior...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I was at my wits end with the negative behavior my bassett hounds were displaying. I knew they needed training or my like I did because I wasn’t doing anything training wise with them and it wasn’t working. I was referred to Basset Hound Savvy by Basset Hound Rescue of Southern California where I rescued my Bassets. Since reading the books, I have seen improved behavior and I feel much better about raising my Basset Hound puppies!

Patricia L. Hamm, Camarillo CA USA

specific to the breed...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

One of the most attractive things was that you are specific to the breed – that is what caught my attention and still does. I feel that is important to have information specific to the Basset Breed. Too many other books and magazines talk about dogs in general and questions go unanswered. I think each breed has its own characteristics so it is important to me to know when you answer my questions that you are relating the behavior not only to my dog’s personality but to his breed’s strengths and weaknesses. Just like humans have cultural traits so do our furry companions. Your approach makes me feel someone is really listening to my concerns.

Ginny Chirsky, Meriden CT USA

right up front...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

This is our 4th basset hound. Our previous basset had addison’s disease and passed away just prior to his 2nd birthday. Out of all of our bassets, he was the worse behaved. We hated going to obedience school. He pulled on his leash so hard, that his eyes turned red. Although, we had other books (bought at pet store) about bassets. Other than the background of bassets, it was really a generalized dog book. This book lets you know right up front, what a basset is like and how to train them, despite their hard headedness.

Diana Hnat, Glenville PA USA

it's ace...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I started looking for information on bassets long before we got Bob. I wasn’t sure what to expect really and I found your site on a search engine, it is the most informative site I have found for bassets. There are loads of websites for puppies, but they’re not really breed specific. Yours is and it’s ace thank you for the help and support.

Leanne Taylor, Peterhead Aberdeenshire United Kingdom

turning into a real gem...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I got an email about a month after we got the dog, but don’t know why or from who. The information has proved to help us in every way imaginable as we have never really trained a dog. Every time we had a problem we just went to the book and got the information we needed. He is turning into a real gem.

The Vitt family, Las Vegas Nevada USA

specific to the breed...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

One of the most attractive things was that you are specific to the breed – that is what caught my attention and still does. I feel that is important to have information specific to the Basset Breed. Too many other books and magazines talk about dogs in general and questions go unanswered. I think each breed has its own characteristics so it is important to me to know when you answer my questions that you are relating the behavior not only to my dog’s personality but to his breed’s strengths and weaknesses. Just like humans have cultural traits so do our furry companions. Your approach makes me feel someone is really listening to my concerns.

Ginny Chirsky, Meriden CT USA

right up front...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

This is our 4th basset hound. Our previous basset had addison’s disease and passed away just prior to his 2nd birthday. Out of all of our bassets, he was the worse behaved. We hated going to obedience school. He pulled on his leash so hard, that his eyes turned red. Although, we had other books (bought at pet store) about bassets. Other than the background of bassets, it was really a generalized dog book. This book lets you know right up front, what a basset is like and how to train them, despite their hard headedness.

Diana Hnat, Glenville PA USA

Responds perfectly to training...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

“Waslap” hates to be alone. Responds perfectly to training when executed patiently and consistently!

Thina Basson, Oudtshoorn Western Cape Rep. of South Africa

Basset Hound Savvy does it all...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

When you have so many questions to ask,and a Basset fan all you want is solid advice and practical tips….Basset Hound Savvy does it all

Aodhagan, Dublin Ireland

answers for a specific breed...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

The easiest way to find answers for a specific breed. Great tips on training and caring for bassets.

Renée Mizgala, Dollard des Ormeaux Quebec (province) Canada

best $ I have spent...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy is the best $ I have spent. It is all indexed and the information is first class.

DENIS SPENCER, SYDNEY NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA

excellent...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

For first and second time time Basset owners this book is excellent and the follow up Email are a great help in understanding, training, and feeding your basset hound.

Heather and George, Lanark Ontario Canada

clear information on the breed...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Easily to read and understand, clear information on the breed of dog. No hidden price like on other sites on the net.

Jacqui Carter, Widnes Liverpool England

appreciate the way she feels...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

It basically has helped me understand my little Stella a lot more and also appreciate the way she feels.

Donald Shore, Las Vegas Nv. U.S.A.

enjoy the topics...

3.0 rating
April 5, 2013

When I am at my wits end with my basset I reference the book. I also enjoy the topics in the email because they usually coincide with what is going on with my basset that day or week.

Mary Abba-Gleason, New York USA

much better...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I found Basset Hound Savvy great because it was a breed specific book written by someone with lots of Basset Hound experience. There are lots of other dog books around, and even some that are breed specific but Basset Hound Savvy is much better than all of these.

Brian Mc LOughlin, Dublin Ireland

great guide to the breed...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

The book is a great guide to the breed, the e-mail support is even better because you can ask questions not answered in the book and you will get a response.

Mike and Gianine Hartnett, Baltimore Maryland USA

made it easier to live with a basset hound...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I had no idea what to expect from owning a Basset hound as a pet, and your book clarified a lot of issues that definitely made it easier to live with one!

Carla Gilburt, Durbanville South Africa

made me a believer...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I researched online tips on training a very young puppy. I researched the characteristics of the breed and I kept returning to Basset Hound Savvy. No where else could I find more clear information pertaining exactly to this breed. As well as Hannah’s real life experiences shared on the site, made me a believer.

Jennifer, Pointe-Claire Quebec Canada

invaluable to all Basset owners...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

This information is invaluable to all Basset owners as they can have a mind of their own and look so cute. You often need the support to be strong for your dogs sake. Thank You.

Graham & Kim Byrnes, Mullaloo WA Australia

keep me motivated...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

The regular emails are my favourite part because they keep me motivated, everytime I check my emails I am reminded that I need to give Fred regular training. If it were not for the emails I think his training would be more sporadic which is ok with other breeds but not Basset Hounds!!!

Sue Marsland, Paignton Devon England

every aspect of training is covered...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Great set of tools and every aspect of training is covered. There is no reason that you should have a dog that is not user friendly.

Jan Kory, Eastpointe Michigan United States

Now my basset actually listens to me!...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I thought I would have to live with the chewing, bad potty habits, and overexcitement of my basset puppy forever. Basset Hound Savvy showed me that I just had to change my tactics to some that bassets understood. Now my basset actually listens to me!

Brenda Waldrop, San Diego CA USA

very knowledgeable...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I bought a basset because I always wanted one. I went online to find out as much info as I could and your site came up. You are very knowledgeable and the email info I get comes in very handy. Thank you for your help.

Robin Nichols, Conroe Texas USA

now my constant companion...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Until Basset Hound Savvy and the email support I was afraid I had made a mistake getting my basset. Then I found out the right way to train her and she is now my constant companion. She is still full of mischief but I don’t see it as a problem anymore. If anyone is thinking of getting a basset hound they could not go wrong getting Basset Hound Savvy at the very beginning. You will find the information priceless.

Marilyn Stovall, Austin Texas USA

really relate to the experiences...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Hounds are a breed apart it’s great to have someone who has lived with a hound giving advice instead of general advice for all breeds of dogs. I can really relate to the experiences shared in this book and the training methods used to correct them. A must for all lovers of hounds.

Mrs Lynne Gellender, Southam Warwickshire England

answer to prayer...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

We were very frustrated and did not know how to handle our basset hounds. So many of the behaviours you described were those that we were experiencing. It was an answer to prayer to find your book!

Raymond Leach, Pretoria Gauteng South Africa

understanding our beloved Basset...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Being a first time Basset owner, we were perplexed by some of the unique characteristics that this breed possesses. We are so glad we purchased this guide book in, not only training, but understanding our beloved Basset Hound puppy.

Amit and Alison Badhwar, London Ontario Canada

achieve optimum training results...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has provided me with a good sound knowledge base to work from in order to achieve optimum training results.

Rachel Morgans, Potters Bar Herts U.K

learn the quirks and challenges...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

It was good to learn the quirks and challenges associated with this particular breed. So far, Basset Hound Savvy has given me invaluable tools about how to train and deal with my dog.

Robert Mendoza, Johnston Rhode Island U.S.A.

The Basset Hound Bible...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

This is my first time owning a basset hound. If I didn’t have the book to guide me, I would be lost. Basset Hounds are unique in their personality and in their training. This book should be renamed “The Basset Hound Bible” Ha-Ha!! Thanks for providing your book at such an affordable price.

Kelli Bathon, Waco Texas USA

taught me how to understand...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

If you want to understand how your Basset thinks this material is for you. It taught me how to understand what Willie is thinking and how to react when he is being bad. I recommend this information to anyone whose has or is thinking of getting a Basset Hound.

Cathie Rouse, Las Vegas Nevada USA

wish I had it with my 1st basset...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

As a long term basset owner Basset Hound Savvy is very instructive and helpful, wish I had it with my 1st basset 30 years ago.

Alan, Geelong Australia

she will now sit on command...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

After buying our Basset Hound we thought that she would easy enough to train without and help (we were wrong)! Madi would not do anything she was asked even though we were quite stern with her. I found Basset Hound Savvy when I was looking on the internet for some help. After reading through the information from Basset Hound Savvy we started from the beginning and the improvement was immediate. Madi is only 14 Weeks old and she will Now Sit, Give Paw, Lie Down and Go to Bed on Command.

David Dickson & Paula Mooney, Lisburn Co Antrim Northern Ireland

a joy to have...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

After deciding to get a Basset hound we did a lot of reading about the breed and how they can be very different from the usual “mutt” we would have gotten from the SPCA. In our research we found many helpful books on line and Basset hound Savvy was the one that we kept going back to.The email support is great, it opens up some happenings we have been experiencing in everyday life and helps us deal with them in the right way. Thank you for the wonderful book and support. Our “Missy” is a joy to have and you have made it just that much better.

Barbara and Larry Blanco, California USA

what makes your dog tick...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basic Training and Obedence…this will help you out tremendously! It has helped me to better understand why Theodore Roosevelt the 21st (my Basset) does the things he does. When you learn “what makes your dog tick”, you will then begin to better understand why “they do the things they do!” PATIENCE-PATIENCE-PATIENCE!!!

Suzanne B., Guthrie Oklahoma USA

nothing but happy with the results...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has been so helpful to me! From the moment we brought King Louis home, we’ve used the techniques and have been nothing but happy with the results. It has helped us create a harmonious, balanced relationship with our companion, and has made life with our Basset Hound a very happy and rewarding experience!

Tanya, Vancouver Washington USA

truly understand him...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basset Hounds are a very special, loving breed, yet complicated. Understanding them can be frustrating and regular dog training techniques don’t work. Basset Hound Savvy helps get into the mind of the Basset and truly understand him/her.

Jennifer Scollard, Peterborough Ontario Canada

specific to this breed...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Your book has been an immediate and helpful resource – specific to raising a Basset Hound. I had a Basset Hound as a child, but my parents took care of the training, so, even though I’ve had other dogs as an adult, the resource has been great because it is specific to this breed. I refer to the various sections quite often – so it is nice to have it readily available. Thank you!

Janet Gundling, Jackson NJ USA

straight to the point...

5.0 rating
April 5, 2013

I found the book very useful and the email support was excellent, the answers to my questions were short and straight to the point which is good which was.

Jonathon, Telford shropshire england

moving on to behavioral training...

4.0 rating
April 5, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has helped me to understand my sweet little Cooper, I tend to be bad more than he does. I liked the useful information on the house training and now I will moving on to behavioral training. He has pick his house training up quick and I believe that he will in the other training. Thanks Basset Hound Savvy.

Nena Fink, Murfreesboro Tn USA

I have noticed a big difference...

5.0 rating
March 25, 2013

I like the fact that Basset Hound Savvy helps keep me accountable to training our dog. So many times dog training books get put on a shelf and never used until there is a problem. I have noticed a big difference in the way our dog responds to us since we’ve been learning the importance of becoming pack leaders. She’s not jumping up as much since we’ve been taking the advice of Basset Hound Savvy.

Lisa Maddison, Rhode Island, US

Solved all my problems...

5.0 rating
March 25, 2013

Basset Hound I have found are very inteligent and Basset Hound Savvy has solved all my problems. Iif you follow it as i have you wont go wrong. If you do not you will find you may have a problem with your dog very quickly.

David Almond, North Yorkshire, UK

Such a relief...

5.0 rating
March 25, 2013

My daughter relocated in another country and the foster care she had for the Basset Hounds didn’t work out. I picked them up at short notice, not knowing anything about the breed, or much about dogs, being a multiple cat owner. Basset Hound Savvy has made it possible to look after my daughter’s dogs rather than take them to a shelter. It’s been such a relief to have someone to turn to.

Patricia Stone, Hagerstown, MD

Well worth it...

5.0 rating
March 25, 2013

Basset Hound Savvy has been a great resource for me and my family as we are first time owners of this breed although I have had dogs all my life. Great content at a great price. Well worth it. The email tips are super useful as well.

Josh Sydney, Fairview, Oklahoma

You can see it working with your own dog...

4.0 rating
March 25, 2013

I was looking for breed-specific training material and found Basset Hound Savvy. It has really helped me being a first-time owner of this special breed. Basset Hound’s are not like other dogs and have special requirements so I found this guide to all be very helpful, including the emails which keep you on track and enthusiastic about training. It also gives you confidence that you are doing the right thing because you can see it working with your own dog. Thanks!

Gabrielle Packer, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Submit your own review…

We would love to receive your review of Basset Hound Savvy. Complete the simple form below…